Home > Uncategorized > Live tree, dead tree

Live tree, dead tree

I love contrast in photos. The more photos I take, the more I appreciate subtle contrast. Not the kind of contrast one adjusts with the slider bar in Photoshop, but that emotional contrast of life and death, permanance and frailty, glassy smooth and gritty rough, lines and curves; all found in nature. I also enjoy when photos draw me to different conclusions. When I took this photo I could not decide whether the live tree would be sad, afraid or completely indifferent if it had human emotions.

Today, I see a pensive worry about the future.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Infinite Monkeys
    April 20, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    I see a victor standing atop the hill above his fallen enemy that he has just struck down. Although I am feeling extremely pessimistic today — particularly rough school week. I also tend to see battles in most everything. What I really like though, is when I look longer and see more stories emerging.

    A crippled supplicant bows to a mighty ruler. A fallen comrade, betrayed by age, crumples to the ground. I see so much sadness and triumph and joy in this picture.

    Actually, I didn’t see those things until I read your description. The description fueled my imagination and the picture suddenly changed from, ‘eh, trees’ to something so much more. I think my problem is that I don’t stop and think enough about what is going on in pictures.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

