Home > Uncategorized > Cottonwood leaf

Cottonwood leaf

Leaf Veins

 

Cottonwoods, second only to Aspens, are my favorite trees. I love how crooked and bent their branches can be, how their seeds fall like snow in the summer, how their leaves cover the ground with the sweet smell of decomposition and earth, how their leaves turn golden and then hang on for months. I always find myself wanting to take pictures of them, even when I have already shot anything worth shooting.

 

On this day, I found a dead cottonwood leaf that had formed a small bowl as it dried. I switched to my macro lens (Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM) and shot this picture against the shadows of a cottonwood grove. I like how the veins of the dead leaf stand out, coursing randomly across its surface, and how the splotchy discolorations show up in black and white, flecked across the maze of veins.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Infinite Monkeys
    October 2, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    That’s impressive. It almost looks surreal. It would make a good texture for 3D rendering on models.

    I have always hated Cottonwoods — probably because I’m allergic. Seeing the fluffy balls of cotton just makes my eyes swell up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

