Home > Uncategorized > Today at the office

Today at the office

September 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

 

Apartment Face

Today, at the office, I was in the lab and looked out the window at the face of an apartment nearby. The way it stared back at me forced me to take a picture. I love the texture of the light across the brick, and the way the surface of the wall almost appears wrinkled, like the souls of the people that live inside.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Tara
    September 11, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I would have never looked at it that way, thank you for adding to the picture your thoughts behind the photo.

  2. bellybutonlint
    September 11, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    all of your pictures are great, but this is by far my favorite. good eye!

  3. J "wish he had your photo opportunities" W
    September 11, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Does the ‘wrinkled’ appearance show up so much in color? I find a lot of times that subtle textures like that are invisible in color.

  4. September 14, 2009 at 7:22 am

    It definitely does not have the same contrast in color. That is why I love black and white. It opens up a whole other world of possibilities. Contrast and texture really come alive in black and white.

  5. J "Captain Hammer" W
    September 14, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I think there is a trade-off, however. Sometimes color can be so much more vivid. If the shot is set up right for color then the colors can provide symmetry and a special kind of contrast of their own.

    I have really liked the way that black and white has altered the moods of a few of my pictures, however.

    I’ve almost decided to do all of my pictures in both just to see which ones I prefer.

  6. September 15, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Plus, with digital photography it is a click of a button to see what your color shot would look like in B&W. I always shoot in color, then do my black and white changes in Camera Raw in Photoshop.

    In the end, I feel intimidated by color. There are so many aspects to it that I feel overwhelmed. I love the simplicity and rawness of B&W and trying to think in B&W while shooting is a challenge.

  7. Dallin
    October 8, 2009 at 10:37 am

    I’m not gonna lie jack, I just don’t ‘get’ this one. It doesn’t speak to me like most of your others.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

